My Life as of Now: My Feelings Through Outfits

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post and it’s not because I had writer’s block. See, my blog was never just a fashion journalism platform. I’m no where near comparable to WWD or Business of Fashion– that was never my intention with this. I’ve always gone for a more Carrie Diaries narrative approach, which is why I’m so open with you all. You’re basically reading my diary right now and so with that being said…

Life has been…something and that is why all of this has been so hard to write about. Quite honestly, I don’t think I am ready to talk about all that has happened, but for starters, I’m single. Which surprisingly is the least of my troubles from these last few months.

I’ve learned that love shouldn’t give you anxiety. Love is never wondering if you’re enough for someone or why you weren’t enough. Love is not laying by your phone at 3 AM in fetal position rocking yourself back and forth because you’re scared that you may get dumped again after another fight. Love isn’t that, but I’m also not too sure what love exactly is. Maybe one day I’ll find out.

If there’s one thing I am sure of, it is that fashion has always been my muse. Your outfit speaks more about you than you may know, and I want my outfits to speak out happiness, joyfulness, determination– all of the above. To some, clothes may be strictly essentials. However, I use clothes in an entirely different way that many can attest to. A good outfit is my security blanket: I feel complete and put together, bright colors make me feel joyous and it makes me feel like I have control over at least one thing in my life. That is that I can control my style. I can control how I look and how I would like to appear to others, so although I may not be able to control how other’s treat me, I can control how others see me. LOL, I sound like a control freak right now but the persona I am building through my outfits lately is the person I’d like to fully be one day and I believe I am slowly becoming Her. Hey, faking it till you make it, amiright?

Here’s some of my favorite outfits:

  1. The Zebra Pant Look: This outfit is so much fun. All of the colors bring me so much joy and I just love everything about it. It’s loud, which I am not, but I want to be more daring. I want to wear things any average person would be scared to style. I want to be that girl that everyone looks up to. Like, see bruh, Alyssa is who I wanna be type of thing LOL. Only a few will understand. Get it? Zebra sounds like “see bruh”…never mind. I’ll be deleting my blog next week. Kidding.

2. The Mooving On Look: This outfit is self explanatory and a whole lot more metaphorical than I had intended now that I think about it lol. When I first took the picture, I just liked the background. However, looking back on it I see a message…*cue crazy English teacher eyes* I am mooving on (haha) and receiving something new. Getting ready to walk into the door of my new life. I don’t know…it made more sense in my head.


3. The “I Need Space” Look: The only thing I need space from is hair bleach if I’m being honest. I don’t have something witty to say about this outfit. Every girl has been told this by a guy at some point in their journey of navigating relationships, so it feels quite empowering to wear despite it having a bit of a Forever 21 quote cringe feel. Oh well ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ 

Don’t worry about me. I will be ok. 🙂 Thanks for catching up with me. I’ll be back soon. Back and better than ever.

(Yes, btw, I am currently seeing a psychiatrist LOL)

One response to “My Life as of Now: My Feelings Through Outfits”

  1. I love your thoughts n love stuff! I always see your confidence and challenge through your analyzed stunning look! keep moving on whatever you want I am pulling for u 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment