Spring

According to some website that came up on google, “air, water and ground temperatures also increase [during spring], leading to growth of new plants.” Spring: a time of new beginnings, right? Scientifically and personally. For that reason, I’ve always liked that my birthday was during the Spring time. It’s a time to start fresh, and there’s no other way to start fresh than to turn a whole year older along with it. It sounds sort of silly now that I’m putting my thoughts to words, because after all, age is just a number (HMU Tyler Posey). ANYWAY, there’s something about turning a year older, especially during Spring, that makes me want to reflect on what the past year was like and how I’m going to re-bloom this next year of my life.

This will be my last blog post as an 18-year-old. I’m done with my first year of “adulthood” and man, was some parts of it rough; some parts of it wasn’t rough either though. You’d think with how often I blogged this past year of my life or even posted on social media you’d have a good grip of what I did or went through at 18. You really don’t though. I’ve come to that realization lately…

Whenever we turn a year older, it’s either a relief from the troubles the prior year dumped on us or it’s looked at as another chance to create new, amazing memories to share on Facebook. However, whenever we post on social media on our special day, we only touch the surface of what it was like to be 18 or 24 or 37. I’m sure you’ve seen it: a caption along the lines of “19 was a year to remember, here’s to 20!” paired with a picture of the birthday girl showing off her birthday glam (don’t forget the oversized number balloons she’s posing with lmao). Do we really want to remember all that it was like to be that certain age or do we say it just because it’s a custom? It’s not like anyone would caption that picture with “ayy cheers to 19, my dog died and I lost my scholarship but I also made out with this one hot guy and went to super cool concerts! Let’s see what being 20 has in store :-)” LOL, imagine.

I don’t know what the hypothetical girl, who’s posing with her birthday balloons, went through all while she was 19. I really have no clue. Although, I’m sure there were some ups and downs as there are for everyone else in this world. I really don’t know where I’m going with this lol. Because in reality, you don’t know what I think about at night before I doze off into deep sleep. You don’t know when the last time I cried was and what was the reason. You don’t know how being 18 really has been for me but I do. I know the good, the bad, and the ugly. I know all of it because I am me. I guess that’s what makes it fun because mystery leaves everyone questioning and wanting more. I’ll take all that I’ve learned while being 18 and I’ll carry it into my next year of life. I guess all I’m really trying to say is that I can’t wait to re-bloom; spring really has me feeling some kind of way. What am I even saying? What even is the point of this blog? lol, idk. I feel like Jaden Smith. Take this blog as you’d like…I’ll be back April 3rd and a year older! ayy lmao. 🤘🎉

Leave a Reply

